web analytics

About Hawaii

Hawaii is the newest of the 50 American states and it is the only state made up entirely of islands. It’s located on an archipelago in the central Pacific Ocean, southwest of the continental U.S. southeast of Japan, and northeast of Australia.

The state was admitted to the Union on August 21, 1959.

Its capital is Honolulu on the island of O'ahu.

Population is estimated at 1,283,388, according to the most recent census.

The state encompasses nearly the entire volcanic Hawaiian Island chain, which is comprised of hundreds of islands spread over 2,400 km. At the southeastern end of the archipelago, the eight "main islands" are (from the northwest to southeast) Ni'ihau, Kaua'i, O'ahu, Moloka'i, Lāna'i, Kaho'olawe, Maui, and Hawai'i. The last is by far the largest and is, therefore, often called the "Big Island" or "Big Isle", to avoid confusion with the state as a whole. This archipelago is geographically and ethnologically part of the Polynesian sub-region of Oceania.

Hawaii is one of the most popular and family-friendly destinations in the world for its  natural beauty, warm tropical climate, inviting waters and waves, and active volcanoes.  Because of its location in the central Pacific Ocean, Hawaii boasts of numerous North American and Asian influences along with its own vibrant native culture.

You might also like:

Leave a reply